My Visit to the New York Public Library

This Easter I was fortunate enough to go to New York and it was definitely the best city break I have ever been on. I may blog about further things I did on my trip but I today I wanted to share with you my experience at the New York Public Library.

The library contains nearly 53 million items and is the fourth largest library in the world, as you walk past it on 5th Avenue, you are instantly impressed by the huge and beautiful building. What also makes NYPL special are the rare pieces it contains such as the only existing copy of the first printing of Columbus’ letter to Luis de Santángel (Barcelona, 1493) and the first Bible printed in a native American language (I didn’t get to see either of these as they are in the Rare Book Division).

When you first go in, you go through a very grand entrance and if you have a bag it is checked etc and then you walk through a huge beautiful room with staircases and lights .

entrance.jpg
The Entrance

Unfortunately when I went the Rose Main Reading Room was closed and I was so disappointed as it is such a beautiful room.

rose main reading room.gif
Rose Main Reading Room

For a lot of the time I was at the library, I was just exploring the vast building and I learnt that the library is very important as 1 in 3 people in New York do not have access to internet and the library gives free access to that.

Overall, my trip to New York was amazing and unforgettable and if you ever get the chance to go, I would definitely visit the NYPL as it is a piece of history and beauty in itself.

Keep reading, bookworms!

Leave a Reply

